City Council

Share & Bookmark, Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Swift Current City Council is comprised of the Mayor and six Councillors. Swift Current has no wards; each Council member represents the community as a whole, and every four years, the citizens of Swift Current elect the Mayor and members of Council. The current Mayor & Council were elected on November 12, 2020.

City Council is responsible for fulfilling the legislative function of the City’s government. Council members are responsible for establishing policy and setting direction. Council's decisions are made by a majority vote. Council meetings are held in the Council Chambers at City Hall (177 - 1st Avenue NE), and they are open to the public. If attending a meeting, you may stay for the entire meeting, or be present only when the item/items of interest to you are being discussed. Council meetings are broadcast on Shaw TV Cable 10 and streamed live. To view Minutes and Agendas for Council meetings, click here.

Click here to view our Proclamation & Flag Raising Application Form.

The current Council consists of:



Mayor Al Bridal
Elected as Mayor in 2020.




Councillor Tom Christiansen
Elected to City Council in 2020.




Councillor Pat Friesen
Elected to City Council in 2012. Re-elected in 2016 and 2020.




Councillor Ryan Plewis
Elected to City Council in 2009. Re-elected in 2012, 2016 and 2020.




Councillor Ryan Switzer
Elected to City Council in 2020.




Councillor Leanne Tuntland-Wiebe
Elected to City Council in 2020.




Councillor John Wall
Elected to City Council in 2020.